Twitter chats for travel bloggers

One of the best things about being a travel blogger is getting to talk about travel with other people who are just as passionate about it.

Whenever I come back from a trip, I always feel like I’d be bragging or boring friends if I talked too much about my recent jaunt, so I try to keep stories to a minimum, and basically do that British thing where you just say ‘good’ whenever someone asks you how your weekend/Christmas/holiday was.

That’s part of the reason I started Vic Advisor – it’s my little place where I can go to talk about travel as much as I want, without feeling like I was boring someone. Or if I was, then at least they could just stop reading…

Incredibly, it’s been nearly a year now since I properly launched this site, and I must admit, I’ve really enjoyed writing and reading about other people’s travels in that time. But there’s another area of the online travel community that I’ve also come to love – Twitter chats.

You’re probably already familiar with the concept, but if you’re yet to join one or aren’t quite sure what one is, here’s how it works.
Usually an hour long, a Twitter chat is an online conversation which take place around a particular hashtag. Around 5-10 pre-written questions are asked by the ‘host(s)’ of the chat (another twitter user), which is then open for anyone and everyone to answer.

The questions will be tweeted out in order, like this:
“Q1. What’s your favourite beach in the world? #TravelChat”

To which you’re then free to reply, by labelling your tweet with the question you’re answering, and the relevant hashtag so that others can find it. Like this:
“A1. My favourite beach is Maya Bay in Thailand! #TravelChat”

I’ve picked up tips from seasoned travellers, learnt about travel apps I’d never heard of, and even been given suggestions for upcoming trips from locals, just by taking part in a Twitter chat.

As I discover more and more travel bloggers, I’m also noticing more and more Twitter chats happening throughout the week. So I’ve decided to make a list of all the travel ones I’ve come across in the past year, so I can remind myself of when they are, and maybe help you to find new ones, too.

This is not an exhaustive list, so please let me know if you run a Twitter chat or know of one I haven’t mentioned, and I’d be happy to add it on.


*I’ll be updating this list, so check back for more!*

#TTOT
Short for ‘travel talk on twitter’, this chat happens every Tuesday at 9:30AM GMT, and then again at 21:30PM GMT. It’s run by Melvin @traveldudes, and draws in lots of like-minded travellers each week.

#TRLT
For those who like to venture a little off the beaten track, join in at 6PM GMT on Tuesdays to chat about ‘the road less travelled’ with hosts @TheTravelCamel @Sihpromatum, @TazzDiscovers and @JLipowski.

#PTTravel
Quitting your job to travel the world isn’t a realistic dream for everyone (nor is it something that everyone wants to do), and the #PTTravel chat is for part-time travellers who balance their wanderlust with a day job. Join in every Sunday at 6PM GMT / 1PM EST with host @kate_frankie.

#LuxTravelChat
Organised by @luxurytravelmom and @mrsoaroundworld, this chat is for all you luxury travel lovers. Join in every Thursday at 5.30pm GMT with the hashtag #luxtravelchat.

#DCTravChat
Held every Thursday at 10am, @Dealchecker hosts this chat around a different topic of travel each week – e.g. lakes, beaches, winter sun etc.

#HolidayChat
Taking place on the first Wednesday of every month, this chat is run by travel company Icelolly.com. They usually set a topic, and have built up a really big group of travel bloggers who join in each month. Follow them at @IcelollyHoliday.

#TravelPics
Run by @AntiTourist, join in every Monday at 8pm GMT / 3PM EST to talk about travel photography.

#FoodieChats
One for food lovers (and night owls, if you’re in the UK), follow @FoodieChats and join them every Monday at 1AM GMT/ 8PM EST to talk about your favourite foodie finds.

#TravChat
Run by @30_summers, a new travel topic is discussed every Wednesday at 9:30am GMT via @travchat.

#PassionPassport
Travel community @PassionPassport hold a chat every Thursday at 7pm GMT to talk about a different aspect of travelling.

#OneTravelChat
Run at the same time as #PassionPassport, this chat is held by @OneTravel.

#TNI
The ‘traveller’s night in’ chat happens every Thursday at 20:30GMT. You can follow them here: @Official_TNI

#TravelIST
Run from India, this chat is held on Thursdays at 3PM GMT by @bijoyv.

#GenXTravel
Join in on the first Wednesday of each month at 5PM GMT for the #GenXTravel chat.

#TravelSkills
The @TravelSkills chat is hosted by @cjmcginnis & @johnnyjet, and takes place every Friday at 5pm GMT / 12pm EST.

#FoodTravelChat
Hosted by @FoodTravelist, check out the hashtag #FoodTravelChat every Wednesday at 12am GMT / 8pm EST to talk about food and travel.

#WWTravelChat
Another one for the UK night owls, join the @WWTravelChat every Thursdays at 1am GMT / 9pm EST.

#JAChat
Hosted by @JettingAround, the #JAchat takes place every Thursday at 6pm GMT / 1pm EST around a new topic each week.

#CultureTrav
Run by @Nicolette_O, find @culturewithtrav on Twitter and join in on Thursdays at 6:30pm GMT / 2:30pm EST to talk about local cultures and travel.


Have I missed one? Tell me in the comments and I’ll add it on!

Pin this:

twitter chats for travel bloggers

Comments

6 Comments
  1. posted by
    Jess Munday
    Mar 4, 2017 Reply

    This is so useful thanks! 🙂

    • posted by
      Vic
      Mar 4, 2017 Reply

      Glad to hear it, thanks Jess!

  2. posted by
    The Barefoot Backpacker
    Mar 6, 2017 Reply

    Super 🙂

    I’m trying to think of other travel chats I regularly/often/sometimes take part in … Course I can’t remember off the top of my head who runs several of them … 😉

    #OneTravelChat -> same time as PassionPassport
    #TNI -> 20:30GMT Thursdays. “Travellers’ Night In”.
    #TravelIST -> Travel Chat run from India, 15:00 GMT Thursdays, @bijoyv
    #ChatAdventure -> Every two weeks, 20:30 GMT Wednesday, run by @HeidiSiefkas
    #genxtravel -> First Wednesday of the month, 17:00 GMT, primarily focusses on older-than-average travellers; has a FB page too.

    Thursday tends to be my busiest twitter chat day…

    • posted by
      Vic
      Mar 6, 2017 Reply

      Ah great, I’ll find out who runs those and add them on. Thanks!

  3. posted by
    Aref
    Mar 15, 2017 Reply

    Well done Vic!
    So useful!
    Thanks a lot.

    • posted by
      Vic
      Mar 15, 2017 Reply

      No probs Aref 🙂 thanks

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *